Peanut Butter Protein Balls

pb-protein-balls

I used to be one of those people who wouldn’t eat after a workout. I’d have a cup of coffee (black) and think I was enjoying the slimming effect of my effort.

When someone told me I should eat within an hour after exercising I was incredulous. “I have to eat right away? I just burned those cals! I want to feel skinny for a second!” Hahhaha, boy was my theory wrong. Instead of slimming, I was actually forcing my body to tap into muscle reserves.

This is the anti-FWAL-hack, but it’s the truth: Once I realized I should have a protein snack after my sweat sess, I would bring a baggy of protein powder with me to the gym and make a mess trying to get it mixed into water. *

*I know they have those plastic containers with the metal whisk-ball-thingys but I’m adamantly against carrying any more stuff in my purse. I’m one step away from a packhorse as is.

One day my friend Meghan and I met for a FlyWheel class and hit a coffee shop afterward. She offered me a truffle sized protein ball that changed my post-workout game forever. Now, I make a batch of these once a week and keep them at the ready in my freezer. You can add chocolate chips, coconut flakes or dried cherries; the variations are surely endless!

Recipe adapted from Vega Protein recipes. Use whichever variety of protein powder your taste buds enjoy.

Ingredients
1 serving protein powder, I like RAW Organic Vanilla Shake by Garden of Eden
¼ cup peanut butter
¼ cup sunflower butter
½ cup oats
1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
2 tsp chia seeds
½ tsp vanilla
Pinch of sea salt

Directions

1) Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and roll into balls with your hands. If the mixture feels too dry, add a teaspoon of water and adjust until you reach a roll able dough-like consistency.

2) Store in an airtight container in the freezer for up to two weeks.

Leave me a comment below with your favorite protein ball recipe! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

