Teriyaki Sauce Taste-Off

My resolution this year is to introduce new flavors into my kitchen.  This week I wandered through the condiment isle and found myself standing in front of a 3ft. section of Asian sauces.  Personally, I always have an issue cooking Asian food – even if I follow a recipe.  My pantry has the usual suspects: toasted sesame oil, chili oil, chili pepper paste, mirin, rice wine vinegar, and soy sauce.  A dash of this and teaspoon of that, but the outcome is never quite right.  It’s too salty or not spicy or just plain bland.  So when it comes to Asian food, I tend to bend toward the bottled sauces.
Today I taste 4 varieties of teriyaki sauce to see which had the freshest flavor and best texture.

Annie Chun’s: This has a classic teriyaki flavor, reminding me of Toshi’s, a hole-in-the-wall restaurant that used to serve the best chicken teriyaki in town.  This sauce achieves a balance of garlic, soy, red pepper and spices; it’s thick enough to use as a marinade yet would be perfect simply poured into a bowl of rice.  


Soy Vay Veri Veri Teriyaki:  This was my absolute favorite sauce!  It has a thick combination of garlic and fresh ginger that sit above the briny, umami soy mixture.  Once combined, it’s a marriage of fresh ginger, red pepper flakes, garlic and soy with a thick consistency.  This sauce is bound to create a masterpiece of veri delicious teriyaki.   

Leave a Reply

