Travel Tips: Foodie On The Road

I’m just back from a trip to Juneau, Alaska and unpacking my bags.  Dirty clothes in this pile, clean clothes in that pile, toiletries back into the bathroom, shoes into the closet… we’ve all been there.  It’s the process of putting our lives back together, one pair of socks at a time.  You may have noticed, but I love to travel and recently realized, I’ve inadvertently created a ‘foodie travel kit’.  It consists of all the things I need to remain in balance.  Whether traveling half way around the world or simply down the coast, the package is just about the same.  In addition to my sunglasses, passport and a few good magazines, I always pack:

  • Empty water bottle (that way I don’t have to pay for a tiny bottle of water at the airport)
  • Raw carrots (peeled)
  • Almonds
  • Green and/or ginger tea
  • Kashi granola bars or dates
  • Theo dark chocolate
  • Vitamins
Truthfully, sometimes I bring ground coffee and have been known to pack my Bialetti espresso pot.  If I know I’m going to a town that’s not into coffee (Phoenix), I plan accordingly.  Hey, we all have our thing.  Plus, I’m a sucker for Caffe Vita.
I try to pack a sandwich or salad (in a container I don’t care about) since airport food is usually questionable.  Crackers, bagels, muffins, they are everywhere, but a nice crunchy fresh snack (carrots) are hard to come by.  Many times I’ll throw an apple into my purse because it’s a bit durable and has that satisfying crunch of something raw. 
I put together this foodie travel kit, especially when I’m traveling for work.  In Alaska, for example, meat and potatoes are dietary staples, but not what I usually eat.  Noshing on a carrot or apple and a handful of almonds helps me stay in balance.  Whenever you are eating away from home, you’re bound to upset your routine.  Not that it’s a bad thing, in fact, I highly recommend it!  Exploring cultures through cuisine is one of the best ways to understand how people live, their history, their economy, their society.  This doesn’t always mean everything will agree with you, so I pack ginger tea to brew if something isn’t settling well.   
Usually on business trips no one orders dessert, but I like to end the evening with a little sweet.  Back in my room, I’ll enjoy a chunk of dark chocolate, a granola bar or some dates.
All this said, bring your vitamins if you take ’em.  Traveling, especially on an airplane, weakens the immune system, opening you up for sickness.  Stay hydrated and nourished.
Most of all, have fun and enjoy the ride!    
  Keywords: Caffe Vita, foodie travel pack, Theo chocolate, traveling smart
One response to “Travel Tips: Foodie On The Road

Leave a Reply

