Roasted Brussels Sprouts Are Back!!!!

I’m just so excited about this!  Most people start to get grumpy and lethargic as summer comes to an end and the Northern winds arrive.  But I’m amped.  To me, fall is about the produce, the hearty flavors and longer cooking processes (although not that long, honey, I have a LIFE!)  Squash, pumpkin, carrots and best of all, brussel sprouts.  While living in Arizona, I’d come home for the holidays, I’d… ok, I’d freeze most of all.  My blood was thin.  But once properly layered in over the top and seriously outdated snow attire, I’d go grocery shopping with my mom.  “What do you want?” She’d ask.  “Uhhh, vegetables,” I was on a real vegetable kick in those days (worse than now, if that’s even possible).  We’d get these amazing roasted brussels sprouts from Metropolitan Market; oh lord, bless that store and their pricy deli vegetables.  I think I bough them once without my mom and quickly realized they were $7.99/Lb; too rich for my thin blood.  So I learned how to roast them.  Now I sell roasted brussels sprouts to people for $7.99/Lb, funny how things turn out.

The nice thing about roasting something in the oven is that it’s minimal hands-on cooking time.  I usually get a wild hair up my ass that I want to make roasted … whatever… at 8am on a Saturday.  My boyfriend is never excited about this endeavor since I live in a studio, but such is life.

2 Lbs brussels sprouts, washed and cut in half
1 clove of garlic, freshly minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked pepper

Set your oven to 450*F; in a large roasting pan toss all ingredients together and cover with foil.  Roast for 20 minutes covered, then remove foil and stir.  The sprouts should be pierced with a fork but still tough.  Roast uncovered for an additional 20 minutes.  Now a fork should easily cut through the sprout and some leaves will be blackened.  Taste and adjust salt/pepper.  Mmmm pure bliss. 

6 responses to “Roasted Brussels Sprouts Are Back!!!!

  1. Pingback: Red Wine Braised Lamb·

  2. Pingback: Brussel and Feta Quiche·

  3. Pingback: Brussel and Feta Quiche | foodie with a life·

  4. Pingback: Red Wine Braised Lamb | foodie with a life·

Leave a Reply

